Derek Walcott

A black and white image of a Caribbean man
Image Credit: Eamonn McCabe

Derek Walcott

Derek Walcott, born in Saint Lucia, the West Indies, received, among many other honors, the 1992 Nobel Prize in Literature, a MacArthur Foundation "genius" award, a Royal Society of Literature Award, and, in 1988, the Queen's Medal for Poetry. 

Walcott's poetry collections include The Prodigal (Farrar, Straus & Giroux, 2004) Tiepolo's Hound ( 2000), The Bounty (1997), Omeros (1990), The Arkansas Testament (1987), Collected Poems: 1948-1984 (1986), Midsummer (1986), The Fortunate Traveller (1981), The Star-Apple Kingdom (1979), Sea Grapes (1976), Another Life (1973), The Gulf (1970), The Castaway (1965), and In a Green Night (1962). His first collection of essays, What the Twilight Says (Farrar, Straus & Giroux), was published in 1998. His plays include The Odyssey: A Stage Version (1992); The Isle is Full of Noises (1982); Remembrance and Pantomime (1980); The Joker of Seville and O Babylon! (1978); Dream on Monkey Mountain and Other Plays (1970); Three Plays: The Last Carnival; Beef, No Chicken; and A Branch of the Blue Nile (1969). Derek Walcott taught creative writing at Boston University every fall and lived the rest of the year in St. Lucia.

Issues Edited by This Author:


Articles By This Author: