John Skoyles

John Skoyles
Photo by Pamela Painter

John Skoyles is the author of four books of poems, all published by Carnegie-Mellon University Press: A Little Faith; Permanent Change, Definition of the Soul, and The Situation. He is also the author of two prose works: Generous Strangers, a book of personal essays (Kodansha, 1999), and Secret Frequencies: A New York Education, a memoir (Nebraska, 2003). His work has appeared in The Atlantic, Poetry, Yale Review, TriQuarterly and others. He has received two grants from the NEA as well as fellowships from the New York and North Carolina State Arts Councils.

Ploughshares issues edited by this author:

Winter 2012-2013 Poetry & Fiction

Ploughshares articles by this author:

Title Section Season
Review: The Memory of Water Book Review Spring 2012
Review: God Breaketh Not All Men's Hearts Alike: New & Collected Later Poems Book Review Spring 2012
Review: A Mouth in California Book Review Winter 2010-11
Review: The Ecco Anthology of International Poetry Book Review Winter 2010-11
Rev: The Extreme of the Middle: Writings of Jack Tworkov Book Review Winter 2009-10
Snowfall Poetry Spring 1985
Against Autumn Poetry Spring 1985
Front Street Poetry Spring 1985
Conviction Poetry Spring 1977

Books by the Author:

A Little Faith ( 1981 , Hardcover)
Definition of the Soul ( 1998 , Paperback)
Definition of the Soul ( April 1998 )
Generous Strangers ( 1999 , Paperback)
Permanent Change ( 1991 , Paperback)
Secret Frequencies: A New York Education ( September 2003 , Hardcover)
The Situation ( February 2007 , Paperback)
The Smoky Mountain Cage Bird Society ( 1997 , Hardcover)

This bio was last updated on 12/03/2012.