Susan Mitchell

Susan Mitchell has won many awards for her poetry, including fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the Guggenheim Foundation, and the Lannan Foundation. She is the author of three poetry collections--Erotikon (2000), Rapture (1992), and The Water Inside The Water (1983)--all published by Harper Collins. Rapture received the Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award in 1993 and was a National Book Award Finalist. Mitchell's poems have been widely anthologized and her literary review and magazine include The New Yorker, The Atlantic Monthly, The American Poetry Review, The New Republic, and The Paris Review. Her poems have also been included in five volumes of The Best American Poetry and two Pushcart Prize volumes. She received Ploughshare's Denise and Mel Cohen Award in 1992. Mitchell teaches in the MFA Writing Program at Florida Atlantic University in Boca Raton, and divides her time between Florida and Connecticut.

Ploughshares articles by this author:

Title Section Season
Pussy Willow (An Apology) Poetry Spring 1999
Wind/Breath, Breath/Wind Poetry Winter 1995-96
Night Music Poetry Winter 1990-91
Children's Ward: New York Hospital Poetry Winter 1990-91
The Aviary Poetry Winter 1990-91
Big Red Fish Poetry Spring 1989
Havana Birth Poetry Spring 1989

Books by the Author:

Erotikon ( January 2001 , Paperback)
Rapture ( February 1992 )
Rapture ( April 1992 , Paperback)

This bio was last updated on 02/08/2010.